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The Flexible Spending Accounts Program operates under Regulations set forth by the 

Employee Benefit Plan Council on behalf of the State of Georgia under rules written and 

enforced by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). The Employee Benefit Plan Council 

reserves the right to amend or terminate the Program at any time, in accordance with 

certain rules and within the parameters established by federal law and the Internal 

Revenue Service. 

 

This booklet is issued by the Employee Benefit Plan Council on behalf of the State of 

Georgia for delivery to employees who elect Flexible Spending Account coverage under 

the Flexible Benefits Program. The contract rights of an eligible employee who elects 

Flexible Spending Account coverage will be governed by the contract between the 

Employee Benefit Plan Council and the Plan Administrator. 

 

This booklet is a summary plan description of the Flexible Spending Accounts Program. 

If there should be any conflict between the information contained in this booklet and the 

provisions of the Program, as set out in the formal Program documents, the latter will 

govern. 

 

This booklet is provided only when you are entitled to the coverage provided by the group 

contract as an eligible employee, you elect this coverage, and you retain coverage in 

accordance   with   the   terms   and   conditions   of   the   group   contract.    This booklet 

supersedes and replaces all booklets previously issued to you for Flexible Spending 

Account coverage under the State of Georgia, Flexible Benefits Program. This booklet     

describes the coverage in effect as of January 1, 2023.  

 

NOTICE 

 

If you have a disability and need assistance, please notify the Flexible Benefits Program 

at (404) 656-2730, or for TDD Relay Service only: 1-800-255-0056 (Text-telephone) or 

1-800-255-0135 (Voice). 
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INTRODUCTION 

 

How Flexible Spending Accounts Save Your Money 

A very important feature of your Flexible Benefits package is the Flexible Spending 

Accounts Program (SAP). This special option allows you to pay health care and dependent 

care items with pre-tax dollars, thus reducing your taxable income and saving you money 

on your state and federal income taxes. 

 

The Flexible Spending Accounts Program operates as a “salary reduction arrangement,” 

where pre-tax contributions are taken from your paycheck and applied to one or both 

Flexible Spending Accounts. This effectively reduces your taxable income by the amount 

of your contributions for that Plan Year. Money is transferred from your salary without 

ever being taxed and is reimbursed to you for certain qualifying health care and dependent 

care expenses. 

 

The Program exists to let you pay qualifying health care and dependent care expenses with 

untaxed dollars. There are numerous rules that govern SAP, and certain exceptions and 

exclusions, as explained herein. 

 

Depending on the amount of money earned, your family situation, tax rate, and various 

other factors, you may save between 26% and 42% on the money you choose to put into a 

SAP. 

 

Here is a general example of how a Flexible Spending Account saves you money: 
 

 

 

 

 
 

 With a 

Flexible 

Spending 

Account 

Without a 

Flexible 

Spending 

Account 

-Say your annual State salary is: $22,000 $22,000 

-And your Flexible Spending Account deposit 

is: 

$ 2,000 $0 

-Now deduct for taxes at a 29% rate: - $ 5,800 $ 6,380 

And your available annual pay is now: $14,200 $15,620 

-Now pay off your family-care bills: $0 $2,000 

-So, your overall net is: $14,200 $13,620 
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By channeling your family care expenses through tax-exempt Flexible Spending Accounts, 

rather than paying with after-tax dollars, you have increased your annual take-home pay 

by $580. 

 
 

Program Composition 

 

The Flexible Spending Accounts Program (SAP) is divided into two separate spending 

accounts: Health Care Flexible Spending Account and Dependent Care Flexible Spending 

Account. Each of these are separate and administered independently. Money cannot be 

transferred from one account to the other. While the underlying principles are similar, the 

actual operation of the accounts is very different: 

 

-Health Care Flexible Spending Account (HCFSA) lets you set aside pre-tax dollars 

from your paychecks to cover “excess” health care expenses not reimbursed by any 

medical, dental, or vision care plan. 

 

-Dependent (Child) Care Flexible Spending Account (DCFSA) lets you set aside pre- 

tax dollars from your paycheck to cover eligible dependent care expenses incurred so you 

and/or Spouse may work, look for work, or attend school full time. 

 
Forfeiture: “Use it or Lose it” 

 

The IRS determined that an element of risk must be involved in any kind of benefit 

protection that provides a substantial tax savings. When you deposit money in a HCFSA 

or DCFSA, you must use it, or you lose it. There is no refund at the end of the year and 

anything that is left over in your account is forfeited and goes to help offset the costs of 

operating the FSA. 

 

Eligible expenses incurred while covered in a Plan Year must be claimed in that Plan Year 

(January 1 through December 31). You have a 2 ½-month grace period, or until March 15, 

to incur expenses for that Plan Year and until April 30 to file incurred expenses. Any money 

remaining after this time will be forfeited. 

 

NOTE: If you terminate or retire from State employment, your coverage period will stop 

at the end of the month following your last full month of employment or contribution. You 

may be able to extend your coverage temporarily under COBRA. See page 24 for details. 
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To avoid forfeitures, plan wisely when determining the amount to contribute. Be realistic 

when setting the contribution amount and carefully analyze your recurring expenses each 

week or each month to plan for the year ahead. Planning is the key! 

 

Grace Period 

 

The State adopted a grace period for the HCFSA. This grace period allows you to use 

any unused contribution to reimburse eligible expenses (with respect to the applicable 

Flexible  Spending Account) incurred during the grace period. 

 

The grace period will begin on the first day of the next Plan Year and will end two (2) 

months and fifteen (15) days later. 

 

For example, the Plan Year ends December 31, 2022; the grace period begins January 1, 

2023, and ends March 15, 2023. 

 

 

In order to take advantage of the grace period, you must be: 

 

•  A Participant in the applicable Flexible Spending Account(s) on the last day of the 

Plan Year to which the grace period relates, or 

• A Qualified Beneficiary who is receiving COBRA coverage under the HCFSA on 

the last day of the Plan Year to which the grace period relates. 

 

 
The following additional rules will apply to the grace period: 

 
• Eligible expenses incurred during a grace period and approved for reimbursement 

will be paid first from available amounts that were remaining at the end of the Plan 

Year to which the grace period relates and then from any amounts that are available 

to reimburse expenses incurred during the current Plan Year. Claims will be paid in 

the order in which they are received. This may impact the potential reimbursement 

of eligible expenses incurred during the Plan Year to which the grace period relates 

to the extent such expenses have not yet been submitted for reimbursement. 

However, the Employer reserves the right to reprocess claims to change the order 

in which they were received so that you can maximize your current and prior year 

annual election amounts. 

• For example, assume that $200 remains in your HCFSA at the end of the 

2022 Plan Year and further assume that you have elected to allocate $2400 

to the Health Care Flexible Spending Account for the upcoming 2023 Plan 

Year. If you submit for reimbursement an Eligible Medical Expense of $500 

that was incurred on 
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January 15, 2023, $200 of your claim will be paid out of the unused amounts 

remaining in your HCFSA from the 2022 Plan Year and the remaining $300 will 

be paid out of amounts allocated to your Health Care Flexible Spending Account 

for 2023. 

• Expenses incurred during a grace period must be submitted before the end of the 

Run-out Period, or April 30. Any unused amounts from the end of a Plan Year to 

which the grace period relates that are not used to reimburse eligible expenses 

incurred either during the Plan Year to which the grace period relates or during the 

grace period will be forfeited. 
 

•  You may not use HCFSA amounts to reimburse eligible day care expenses. The 

grace period is not applicable for the Dependent Care Flexible Spending Account. 

 
GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

Glossary of Terms: 

 

-Administrator: The Employee Benefit Plan Council and the Commissioner of the 

Department of Administrative Services (DOAS) are responsible for administering the 

Plan. 

 

-Code: The Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended. 

 

-Coverage Amounts and Coverage Periods (HCFSA only): 

 

•  Elected Coverage Amount (HCFSA only): The maximum amount of money 

available for the reimbursement of eligible health-care expenses at the beginning of 

a Plan Year. It is calculated by multiplying a participant’s monthly HCFSA 

contribution by the number of calendar months in his or her Anticipated Coverage 

Period. 

 

• Available Coverage Amount (HCFSA only): The maximum amount available for 

the reimbursement of covered healthcare expenses at any given time after the 

beginning of a Plan Year. It equals the Elected Coverage Amount less the total of 

all reimbursements already made to the participant in that Plan Year. 

 

•  Anticipated Coverage Period (HCFSA only): The number of calendar months 

during any Plan Year for which a participant is expected to make an HCFSA 

contribution. For current employees, the Anticipated Coverage Period is always 

12 months, for new employees it is the number of calendar months from 

Participation Start Date to the end of the Plan Year. 

 

•  Actual Coverage Period (HCFSA only): The calendar month(s) for which a 

participant actually makes an HCFSA contribution. 
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-Department: The state entity for which you work, which may include a State authority, 

a school system, a county health department, a county department of family and children’s 

services, or the General Assembly. For the purposes of this booklet and SAP, the 

employing entity will be known as your Department. 

 

-Employer: The Employee Benefit Plan Council, on behalf of the State of Georgia and 

the Department from which a participant receives his or her regular compensation. 

 

-Expenses Incurred Date: The date on which a service is rendered, not when it is paid or 

billed. This applies to all expenses for health care and dependent care. 

 

-Itemized Receipt: An explanation of services that includes the name and address of the 

service provider, the date of service, services provided, the amount charged, and the name 

of the employee or dependent who received the services. 

 

-Open Enrollment Period: A month-long period that occurs each year during October 

and November when eligible employees may enroll in the SAP and/or make changes in 

their participation status. 

 

-Participation Start Date: The day your coverage under the Program goes into effect. If 

you sign up during an Open Enrollment Period, then your Participation Start Date will be 

the first day of the upcoming Plan Year (January 1), provided that you are actively at work 

on that date. If you sign up at any other time, your Participation Start Date will be the first 

day of the calendar month after you complete one full calendar month of employment, if 

you are actively at work on that date. 

 

-Plan Year: The one-year period which begins each January 1 and ends December 31. 

 

-The Program: The Flexible Spending Accounts Program of the State of Georgia 

Flexible Benefits Program. 

 

Enrollment in the Program 

 

You are eligible to participate in the Flexible Spending Account Program (SAP) if you 

fully meet any of following categories: 

 

• Active State Employees. Employees who are actively working, on approved leave 

with pay (other than personal sickness or disability), or on suspension with pay, may 

participate in the Flexible Benefits Program if the employee is a regular full- time 

employee who works a minimum of thirty (30) hours per week and whose duties 

are expected to require at least nine (9) months of continuous service. Contingent 

workers of the Labor Department, employees who are working on a temporary, 

seasonal, or intermittent basis, and employees working in a sheltered workshop 

operated by county family and children services, mental health subdivisions or other 

employing entities are not eligible to participate in the SAP. 
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Eligible employees are as follows: 

 

o  A member of the General Assembly or a full-time employee of the General 
Assembly. 

o  A person who works full time and receives compensation in a direct 
payment from a state department, agency, community service board, 
authority, or other institution of State government, exclusive of the Board 
of Regents of the University System of Georgia; or 

o A person who works full time and receives compensation from a county 
department of family and children services or a county department of health 
which receives funds through the grant program of the Department of 
Human Resources. 

 
•  Active Educational System Employees. Employees who are not considered 

temporary or emergency employees, and who are actively working, on approved 

leave with pay (other than personal sickness or disability), or on suspension with 

pay, may participate in the Flexible Benefits Program if the employee receives 

pay from one of the educational institutions that has elected to participate in the 

Program and meets the following requirements: 

 
o Employees serving in a certificated position and who work at least 17.5 

hours per week. 
o Employees who work at least 17.5 hours per week for a county or 

regional library. 
o Persons serving in a non-certificated position and who work at least 20 

hours per week or 60% of the time normally required for these 
positions if that’s more than 20 hours per week; and 

o Persons eligible for the Public-School Employees Retirement 
System and work at least 15 hours per week or 60% of the time 
normally required for these positions if more than 15 hours per 
week. 

 
 

NOTE: The SAP operates as a “salary reduction arrangement.” When you instruct your 

Department to transfer contributions from your paycheck to one or both Flexible 

Spending Accounts, you effectively reduce your taxable compensation by the amount of 

your contribute for that Plan Year. You may not change your elections during the Plan 

Year unless you have a qualifying event. 
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Coverage Effective Date 

 
 

Flexible Spending Account coverage begins on the first day of the month following one 

full calendar month of employment provided you are actively working. The contribution 

is deducted from your paycheck in the calendar month before the actual month in which 

your coverage becomes effective and in each calendar month thereafter through the end 

of the Plan Year. 

 

If you are a current employee who enrolled during the Open Enrollment Period, your 

coverage will begin on January 1. Your first payroll reduction will be in the preceding 

December. 

 

If you are a new employee, your coverage will begin on the first day of the month after 

you complete one full calendar month of employment. For example, if you are hired on 

July 16 and select to contribute to a Flexible Spending Account, your first payroll 

reduction will be made in August for coverage beginning September 1. 

 

If you are hired mid-year or have a qualifying change in status during the plan year, you 

may not contribute the maximum allowed under either SAP for the remainder of the Plan 

Year. In this case, you may only contribute the maximum per month allowed by each 

account. 

 
 

HCFSA Coverage Termination Date 

 

Your coverage will terminate at the end of each Plan Year, or December 31. You have a 

grace period, which typically ends on April 30 to file expenses that were incurred during 

the Plan Year you had coverage. 

 

If you terminate or retire from State employment during the Plan Year, your HCFSA ends 

at the end of the month following the last full month of employment or contribution. 

 

For example, if you terminate employment on June 30, the last contribution towards your 

HCFSA would be deducted from the June 30 paycheck. Therefore, your HCFSA would 

end July 31, or the month following the last full month, you were employed. 

 

If you have any remaining funds in your HCFSA on the date you were terminated, resigned 

or retired you may be able to continue to participate in the HCFSA for the rest of the Plan 

Year. See "Eligibility for COBRA Coverage" on page 24. 
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DCFSA Coverage Termination Date 

 

Your coverage will terminate at the end of each Plan Year or December 31.  If you terminate or 

retire during the Plan Year, your DCFSA ends at the end of the month following the last full 

month of employment or contribution.   

 

For example, if you terminate employment on September 30, the last contribution towards your 

DCFSA would be deducted from the September 30 paycheck.  Therefore, your DCFSA would 

end October 31, or the month following the last full month you were employed. 

 

If you terminate during the Plan Year and have any remaining funds in your DCFSA, you will 

still have access to your funds through the end of the Plan Year.  Eligible dependent care 

expenses can be incurred before and after your termination date through the end of the current 

Plan Year.  You must file your dependent care expenses by April 30 of the following year.   

 

You must incur eligible dependent care expenses during the Plan Year in which you are   

enrolled. There is no grace period for the DCFSA.  Unused contributions will be forfeited.  

 

 

Leave of Absence 

 

If you go on a paid leave of absence, your regular payroll reductions will be continued 

during your leave, with no change in your coverage. 

 

If you have an unpaid leave of absence or an absence without pay, premium payments to 

the DCFSA are not allowed. You may continue premium payments while on a leave of 

absence without pay for the HCFSA. If you do not contribute to your HCFSA while on 

leave without pay, your elected coverage amount and coverage period will be adjusted 

accordingly. 

 

NOTE: An unpaid leave of absence for the purposes of Military or Family Medical Leave 

Act (FMLA) qualifies as a Change in Status Event. See page 23 for more information. 
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HEALTH CARE FLEXIBLE SPENDING ACCOUNT (HCFSA) 

 

How the HCFSA works 

First, estimate your excess health care expense for the coming Plan Year (January through 

December) and decide on the amount of your HCFSA contribution. You will make your 

election during Open Enrollment and authorize your Department to transfer that amount 

from your paycheck to your HCFSA. 

 

The minimum contribution to an HCFSA is $120.00 a year or $10 a month; the maximum is 

$2,808.00 a year or $234.00 a month. 

 

You use your HCFSA as you or your dependents incur health related expenses. 

Reimbursement from your account can be made by using the Electronic Payment (Debit) 

Card or by filing a claim. Both processes are outlined later in this booklet under “Claim 

Reimbursement” on page 18. 

 

Please note that with the State Health Benefit Plan (SHBP) Consumer Driven Health Plan, 

the Health Reimbursement Arrangement (HRA) credit may be utilized first before an 

employee’s HCFSA dollars. This may affect how much money an employee wishes to 

contribute to their Flexible Spending Account. 

 

Just one note of caution…Use it or lose it! 

 

The IRS provides that when you deposit money in a Flexible Spending Account, you must 

“use it or lose it.” There is no refund at the end of the year. Any remaining money left in 

your account is forfeited and helps offset the cost of the SAP. 

 

Who is Covered Under the HCFSA 

 

Eligible individuals for the HCFSA include you, your spouse, children, and any other 

person who is a qualified IRS dependent. Reimbursement for expenses under the HCFSA 

is made only for those who are eligible. 

 

Eligible Expenses for the HCFSA 

 

Eligible health care related expenses are any expenses incurred for medical care, including 

amounts paid for the diagnosis, care, mitigation, treatment, or prevention of disease or 

illness and for treatments affecting any part or function of the body. IRS Publication 502 

provides a detailed listing of tax-deductible items that may be eligible for the Health Care 

Flexible Spending Account. A full list of eligible expenses is accessible at 

https://healthequity.com/qme, obtainable by visiting a local library, by contacting the IRS 

at 1-800-829-1040 or online at www.irs.gov. 

https://healthequity.com/qme
http://www.irs.gov/
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The administrator has the authority to make the final decision as to whether an 

expense is eligible. 
 

The following is a list of potentially eligible expenses for the HCFSA: 

 

• Acupuncture* 

• Abdominal supports* 

• Air conditioners* (to the extent in excess of value enhancements to the property, if 

not detachable) 

• Automobile equipment to assist the physically disabled 

• Back supports* 

• Bereavement and grief counseling 

• Birth control pills 

• Bone marrow transplants 

• Braille books and magazines (above cost of regular printed material) 

• Certain special schooling for disabled persons 

• Childbirth preparation classes (to the extent instruction relates to birth and not 

child-rearing) 

• Chiropractic expenses 

• Computer storage of medical records 

• Contact lenses and contact lens solutions 

• Co-payments 

• Coinsurance 

• Crutches* 

• Deductible amounts 

• Dental cleanings and fillings 

• Detoxification or drug abuse centers 

• Diathermy 

• Diabetic supplies 

• Elevators (in home) for disabled (to the extent in excess of value enhancement to 

property) 

• Expenses in excess of medical, dental, or vision plan limits 

• Expenses for services connected with donating an organ 

• Eye exams 

• Fee to use swimming pool for exercises prescribed by physician to alleviate specific 

medical conditions* (used exclusively to treat medical condition) 

• Feminine hygiene products 

• Fertility Enhancement 

• Guide or guide dogs for persons who are visually or hearing impaired 

• Hearing aids 

• Household visual alert system for hearing impaired person 

• Kidney transplants 

• Lasik Eye Surgery 



14 
 

• Legal fees directly related to mental commitment of mentally ill person 

• Medically necessary mattresses and boards* 

• Note-taker for a hearing-impaired child in school 

• Orthodontia 

• Orthopedic shoes 

• Over the counter drugs (antacids, allergy medications, pain relievers and cold 

medicines) 

• Physical therapy (required for a specific medical condition) 

• Prescription drugs 

• Psychotherapy/psychoanalysis 

• Radial Keratotomy 

• Radiation treatments 

• Remedial reading* 

• Respirators 

• Routine physical exams 

• Smoking cessation programs* 

• Specialized equipment for disabled persons 

• Speech therapy 

• Sterilization surgery 

• Support hose* 

• Water fluoride devices* 

• Weight loss programs* (prescribed by a physician to treat a specific medical 

condition, such as diabetes) 

• Well baby visits 

• Wheelchairs 

• Whirlpool baths* 

• Wigs for hair loss due to any disease* 

• X-rays 

 

*Expenses must be accompanied by a doctor’s certification indicating the specific medical 

disorder, the specific treatment needed, and how this treatment will alleviate the medical 

condition. 

 

Exclusions for the HCFSA 

 

The following is a list of items excluded from the HCFSA: 

 

• Cosmetic procedures or drugs 

• Electrolysis 

• Expenses actually claimed on your income tax 

• Expenses reimbursed by other sources, such as insurance companies 
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• Fees for exercise/athletic/health clubs when there is no specific medical reason or 

justification for membership 

• Hair transplants 

• Herbal Supplements 

• Illegal treatments, operations, or drugs 

• Insurance premiums 

• Nutritional Supplements 

• Postage/Handling fees 

• Teeth whitening/bonding 

• Vitamins 

• Weight reduction programs for general well-being 

DEPENDENT CARE FLEXIBLE SPENDING ACCOUNT (DCFSA) 

How the DCFSA works 

First, estimate the amount of your dependent care expenses for the coming Plan Year and 

decide on the amount of your DCFSA contribution. You will make your election during 

Open Enrollment and authorize your Department to transfer that amount from your 

paycheck to your DCFSA. The minimum contribution is $120 a year or $10 a month; the 

maximum is $4,992 a year or $416 a month. If you and your spouse both work for the 

State, you cannot exceed the $4,992 per year family limitation. As discussed below, other 

federally imposed limitations may curtail your deposits short of the maximum. 

 

When you incur an expense for dependent care, pay the bill first. Complete the DCFSA 

form and have it signed by the person or facility that provided the service. You can also 

attach to the claim form to a signed, itemized receipt from the provider of the service 

which includes the type(s) of service rendered, the actual date(s) on which they were 

received, the total amount charged, the name(s) of the child (ren) or others who were cared 

for, and the complete name, address, and telephone number of the service provider. After 

the claim has been filed, you will receive a reimbursement check provided the claim is 

approved and have enough money in your DCFSA to cover the check. 

 

Just one note of caution…Use it or lose it! 

 

The IRS provides that when you deposit money in a Flexible Spending Account, you must 

“use it or lose it.” There is no refund at the end of the year. Any remaining money left in 

your account is forfeited and helps offset the cost of the SAP. 

 

There are limitations on the amount that can be deposited in a DCFSA, in addition to the 

$4,992 per year overall limit for married taxpayers who file jointly. You may not be able 

to deposit the full amount if: 
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• Your spouse works for the State and the total of your family’s contributions is 

$4,992. 

• Your spouse works for any employer (other than the State) which offers a 

similar plan. In such a case, combined deposits to both plans would be 

limited to the maximum. 

• Either you or your spouse earn less than $5,000 per year, if so, the maximum 

deposit drops to the smaller of your two incomes. 

•  Your spouse is a full-time student or is incapable of self-care. When this 

happens, your deposit is limited to $2,400 if you have just one eligible 

dependent or $4,800 if you have two or more. 

•  You are married but file a separate federal income-tax return. Your DCFSA 

deposit is limited to $2,500. 

 
Who is Covered Under the DCFSA 

 

Eligible dependents for a DCFSA include: 

 

• A dependent child under the age of 13. 

• A dependent of any age who is incapable of self-care because of a physical or 

mental handicap. Please note that a person qualifying as a dependent for this 

type of care must spend at least eight hours a day in your home. 

 
The IRS defines those that are mentally or physically incapable of self-care as individuals 

who cannot dress, clean, or feed themselves because of a physical or mental handicap or 

persons who need constant attention to prevent them from injuring themselves or others. 

 

Eligible Expenses for the DCFSA 

 

Generally, any dependent care service provided for an eligible dependent(s) while you and 

your spouse if married, work, look for work, or go to school full time is eligible. The 

dependent being cared for must be a “qualifying person.” For further information on what 

constitutes a 'qualifying person', please see IRS Publication 504. 

 

IRS Publication 503 provides information on tax-deductible items that may be eligible for 

the Dependent Care Flexible Spending Account. Publication 503 and 504 provide a 

detailed listing of tax-deductible items that may be eligible for the DCFSA. To obtain a 

copy of 503 and/or 504, A full list of eligible expenses is accessible at 

https://www2.healthequity.com/learn/dependent-care-expenses, obtainable by visiting a 

local library, by contacting the IRS at 1-800-829-1040 or online at www.irs.gov. 

The Administrator has the authority to make final decisions as to whether an expense is 

eligible.

https://www2.healthequity.com/learn/dependent-care-expenses
http://www.irs.gov/
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The following is a list of potentially eligible expenses for the DCFSA: 

 

• Childcare at a day camp or nursery school, or by a private sitter 

• Elder care for an incapacitated adult who lives with you at least 8 hours a day 

• Expenses for pre-school and after-school childcare (these expenses must be kept 

separate from any tuition expenses) 

• Cost of a housekeeper whose duties include the care of a qualifying dependent 

 

Exclusions for the DCFSA 

 

The following is a list of items excluded from the DCFSA: 

 
 

• Activity and book fees 

• Child support payments 

• Cleaning and cooking services not provided by the care provider 

• Custodial nursing care 

• Expenses for overnight camps 

• Kindergarten 

• Field trips 

• Food, clothing, entertainment 

• Late payment fees 

• Long-term care premiums 

• Overnight camps 

• Placement fees for finding a dependent care provider 

• Sports lessons 

• Transportation 

• Tuition to private school 



 

CLAIMS REIMBURSEMENT 18 

Once you enroll in the HCFSA, you will receive an Electronic Payment Card, or Debit 

Card, to pay for eligible health care purchases. Using the card allows you to access your 

account immediately, with no out-of-pocket cost. You can also pay for eligible expenses 

out of your own pocket and submit a reimbursement request form with the appropriate 

documentation. 

 

Reimbursement Notes: 

• There is no debit or electronic payment card available for the DCFSA; thus, a claim 

form must always be completed. 

• With the State Health Benefit Plan Consumer Driven Health Plan, Health 

Reimbursement Account (HRA) credit will be utilized before an employee's 

Flexible Spending Account dollars. This may affect how much money an 

employee wishes to contribute to their Flexible Spending Account. 

Using the Electronic Payment (Debit) Card 

 

The Electronic Payment Card allows you to pay for Eligible Medical Expenses at 

the time that you incur the expense. Here is how it works: 

 

•  You must make an election to use the card. In order to be eligible for the 

Electronic Payment Card, you must agree to abide by the terms and conditions of 

the Program and in the Electronic Payment Cardholder Agreement (the “Cardholder 

Agreement”) including any applicable fees, limitations as to card usage, the Plan’s 

right to withhold and offset for ineligible claims, etc. You must agree to abide by 

the terms of the Program both during the initial election period and during each 

annual election period. A Cardholder Agreement will be provided to you. The card 

will be turned off effective the first day of each Plan Year if you do not affirmatively 

agree to abide by the terms of the Program during the preceding Annual Election 

Period. The Cardholder Agreement is part of the terms and conditions of your Plan 

and this SPD. 

 

•  The card will be turned off when employment or coverage terminates. The 

card will be turned off when you terminate employment or coverage under the Plan. 

You may not use the card during any applicable COBRA continuation coverage 

period. 

 

•  You must certify proper use of the card. As specified in the Cardholder 

Agreement, you certify during the applicable Election Period that the amounts in 

your HCFSA will only be used for Eligible Medical Expenses (i.e., medical care 

expenses incurred by you, your spouse, and/or your dependents), you have not been 

reimbursed for the expense and that you will not seek reimbursement for the 

expense from any other source. Failure to abide by this certification will result in 

termination of card use privileges. 
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•  HCFSA reimbursement under the card is limited to health care providers 

(including pharmacies). Use of the card for health care related expenses is limited 

to merchants who are health care providers (doctors, pharmacies, etc.). As set forth 

in the Cardholder Agreement, you will not be able to use the card at certain retail 

stores. 

 

• You use the card at the health care provider as if you do any other credit or 

debit card. When you incur an Eligible Medical Expense at a doctor’s office or 

pharmacy, such as a co-payment or prescription drug expense, you swipe the card 

at the provider’s office as if you would a typical credit or debit card. The provider 

is paid for the expense up to the maximum reimbursement amount available 

under the HCFSA (or as otherwise limited by the Program) at the time that you 

swipe the card. Every time you swipe the card, you certify to the Plan that the 

expense for which payment under the HCFSA is being made is an Eligible Medical 

Expense and that you have not been reimbursed from any other source nor will you 

seek reimbursement from another source. 

 

•  You must obtain and retain a receipt/third-party statement each time you 

swipe the card. You must obtain a third-party statement from the health care 

provider (e.g., receipt, invoice, etc.) that includes the following information each 

time you swipe the card: 

 
o The nature of the expense (e.g., what type of service or treatment 

was provided). 

o The date the expense was incurred. 

o The amount of the expense. 

 
You must retain a receipt for one year following the close of the Plan year in which the 

expense is incurred. Even though payment is made under the card arrangement, a written 

third-party statement may be required (except as otherwise provided in the Cardholder 

Agreement). You will receive a notification from the Claims Administrator if a third-party 

statement is needed. You must provide the third-party statement to the Claims 

Administrator within 7 days (or such longer period provided in the notification from the 

Claims Administrator) of the request. 

 

• There are situations where the third-party statement will not be required to be 

provided to the Claims Administrator. There may be situations in which you will 

not be required to provide the written statement to the claims administrator. 
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More detail as to which situations apply under your Plan can be obtained by contacting 

the Plan Administrator or Third-Party Administrator: 

 

NOTE: It is a good idea to keep the third-party receipt when you use the card just in it is 

required by the Claims Administrator. 

 
• You must pay back any improperly paid claims. If you are unable to provide 

adequate or timely substantiation as requested by the Claims Administrator, you 

must repay the Plan for the unsubstantiated expense as set forth below. In 

addition, the Employer may terminate your usage of the card. 

 
Filing Claim Forms 

 

When you elect to file a claim for reimbursement, you should: 

 
 

1. Pay your bills and gather documentation. 

 
For the HCFSA, submit the claim to your insurance carrier(s). This applies 

even if you have not met your deductible. Your carrier will then determine how 

much of the claim they will pay. You will receive an explanation of benefits 

(EOB) indicating what was paid, if anything, or what was not paid and why. In 

some cases, your insurance company will not cover an expense and you should 

include an itemized bill from your health care provider(s). 

 
For the DCFSA, you should have the provider sign a copy of the claim form or 

provide an itemized receipt which includes the type(s) of services provided, the 

actual dates on which they were received, the total amount charged, the name(s) 

of the child (ren) or others who were cared for, and the complete name, address, 

and telephone number of the dependent care provider. 

 
NOTE: For the purposes of this Program, the IRS says that you “incur” an 

expense on the day the service is rendered; not when the expense is billed or paid. 

 

2. Complete a Flexible Spending Account Claim Form. 

https://www.wageworks.com .  Read the instructions on the claim form 

carefully and attach all required documentation. 

 

3. Send the completed claim form to the Wage Works processing center. Your claim 

will be processed within five business days from the date of receipt. You may 

send your completed claim form and documentation to the address shown on the 

form by mail or by faxing to 1-877-353-9236. 

https://www.wageworks.com/
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Alternatively, you may upload your claim form and supporting documentation via the 

website, using the secure online claims submission feature. 

 

 
Important Reminder: Your HCFSA available coverage amount is your annual Elected 

Coverage Amount less any reimbursements to date. The DCFSA balance is the actual 

balance of contributions that have posted to your account. For the DCFSA, you can only 

be reimbursed up to the amount available in your account. Claims for expenses exceeding 

that amount will be reimbursed as funds of $25 or more accumulate in your account. 

 

Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) 

 

You may have your Flexible Spending Account reimbursements directly deposited into 

your checking or savings account by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT). If you elect to 

have your reimbursement direct deposited, you must log onto 

https://www.wageworks.com  and access your Account Profile to setup your EFT 

reimbursement method. The EFT process will reduce the amount of time it takes to 

receive your reimbursement by approximately three (3) days. 

 

Upon confirmation, your Flexible Spending Account reimbursements will be 

electronically transmitted to your account. You will continue to receive your 

reimbursements in the form of a paper check until the pre-notification process has been 

completed after the initial transmission. 

https://www.wageworks.com/
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INFORMATION ABOUT YOUR FLEXIBLE SPENDING ACCOUNT(S) 
 

 

Member Services Support for FSA related questions is accessible by phone 24/7/365 days 

a year. You can contact Member Services @ (877)924-3967. 

 

Internet Website 

 

Flexible Spending Account participants may visit the WageWorks website to access their 

Account information at https://www.wageworks.com when accessing Account 

information; you will need to know your social security number and password. With 

Wage Works on-line services, you can: 
 

• Update your email address to receive correspondence via email 

• View your Account balance and claim information 

• File a claim online or download a Flexible Spending Account claim form 

• Setup your account for ACH reimbursements by accessing your Account Profile 

• Calculate your optimal Flexible Spending Account contribution and 

determine your potential tax savings 

• Find general information about Flexible Spending Accounts, such as eligible 

expenses for reimbursement 

• Receive immediate help by reading the answers to common Flexible Spending 

Account questions 

 

NOTE: Wage Works utilizes Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) protocol to encrypt the data you 

send and receive to protect the confidentiality of your Account information from 

unauthorized users. 

HealthEquity Member Services  

https://www.wageworks.com/
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ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION 

 

Reporting a Change in Status Event 

 

The IRS limits changes you can make to your Flexible Spending Accounts outside the 

Open Enrollment Period. You may be able to enroll or make a change to your Flexible 

Spending Accounts based on a “qualifying” change in status event. 

 

When you have a qualifying event, you must contact GaBreeze of the change within 31 

days after the event occurs. Any change made to your account(s) must be because of and 

corresponding with the change in status event. Your coverage will be effective the first of 

the month following the event. 

 

NOTE: If you are requesting a decrease or cessation of the Health Care Flexible Spending 

Account (HCFSA), you must certify that all expenses incurred prior to your election change 

request have been filed and affirm that you do not, or will not, have a negative account 

balance after reimbursement of those expenses. 

 

How to File an Appeal 

 
If part or all of a claim is denied, you can appeal the decision and ask for reconsideration 

of the claim. 

 

When a claim is denied, you will receive a written notice of the denial indicating the 

reason(s) your claim was not paid. Specifically, the notification will include the reasons 

for the denial, with reference to the specific provisions of the Program on which the denial 

was based, a description of any additional information needed to process the claim and an 

explanation of the claims review procedure. 

 

Administrative Errors 

 
Modifications of plan participants’ elections due to administrative errors that may have occurred 

during plan enrollments or the processing of a qualifying status change will be allowed. 
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You may appeal the denial by filing a written request for reconsideration within 30 days 

after you receive the notice of denial. You may prepare and submit the appeal yourself or 

have it done by your authorized representative. 

 

Your appeal should be supported by accompanying documents or records. Mail your 

appeal to the address listed below: 

 

WageWorks Appeal Board 

PO Box 14034 

Lexington, KY 40232-4700 

FAX# 877-220-3248 

 

WageWorks, the claims processor, will conduct a full and fair review of your claim, 

generally within 60 days and not longer than 120 days after receiving your appeal. You 

will be given a copy of the decision written in understandable terms and including 

specific reference(s) to any pertinent provisions of the Flexible Spending Account 

Program. 

 

If your claim is denied on appeal, you may file a secondary appeal to the Administrator 

within 30 days after you receive notice of the denial. The Administrator will conduct a full 

and fair review of your claim, generally within 60 days and not longer than 120 days after 

receiving your appeal. You will be provided a written copy of the decision in 

understandable terms and including specific reference(s) to any pertinent provision(s) of 

the SAP. The Administrator has the exclusive right to interpret the appropriate plan 

provisions. Decisions of the Administrator are conclusive and binding. 

 

How HCFSA Coverage Can Be Extended Under COBRA 

 

The Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act, or COBRA, provides that an active 

worker participating in a Health Care Flexible Spending Account (and each of that person’s 

covered dependents) may be entitled to a temporary extension of coverage under that 

Flexible Spending Account program whenever the employee’s participation is about to end 

because of loss of eligibility. 

 

This feature is popularly known as “temporary extended coverage “and may allow you to 

maintain your HCFSA coverage by direct paying its cost for a limited period after 

termination. You must pay the full cost of your participation, plus 2% for administrative 

expenses. 

 

Eligibility for COBRA Coverage 

 

If you have a positive HCFSA balance on the day, you experience a “qualifying event” 

you have the right to continue to participate in the HCFSA for the rest of the Plan Year if 

you make all required payments. 
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These are the qualifying events that may trigger eligibility for temporary 

extended coverage through the end of the Plan Year, including: 

 

• If a participant resigns, retires, or otherwise terminates employment (except for 

reasons of gross misconduct), or loses eligibility status because of reduced work 

hours. 

 

• If a participant dies or divorces. NOTE: A dependent child cannot be covered 

under both the spouse’s temporary extended coverage provision and the 

participant’s contract. 

 

In general, temporary extended coverage under COBRA will end at the end of the Plan 

Year in which the qualifying event occurred, or at the earliest of these events: non- payment 

of contributions within the specified time limits; coverage under another Flexible Spending 

Account program, by reason of employment or re-marriage; eligibility for Medicare; or 

termination of the Flexible Spending Accounts Program. 

 
 

Your Department will know if you are about to become eligible for temporary extended 

coverage under COBRA and will relay that fact to the Program. 

 
If you divorce, or you are covered dependent child (ren) reach the age limit for participation (with the 

exception of disabled dependents), you must notify GaBreeze directly within 31 days via the website 

www.GaBreeze.ga.gov or by calling the GaBreeze Benefits Center 1-877-342-7339. Once the 

changed information is provided, you will receive notification of eligibility for the coverage under 

COBRA alone with a COBRA Election Form. You will have 60 days from the date 

Notice is received to enroll in COBRA coverage. After enrollment in COBRA, you will have 45 

days to pay your initial contribution.

http://www.gabreeze.ga.gov/


 

 


